Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine Board of Trustees Meeting held on Thursday 25 April 2024 At Fairmount House, 230 Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1ES

SUMMARY MINUTES

Dr Anna Barnes	AB	President (Chair)	
Dr Rob Farley	RF	Immediate Past President (online)	
Dr Justin Richards	JR	Independent Trustee	
Ms Chelsea Roche	CR	Independent Trustee (online)	
Mr Jason Wilde	JW	Independent Trustee	
Mr John Turner	IT	Honorary Treasurer	

Mr Jason Wilde JW Independent Trustee
Mr John Turner JT Honorary Treasurer
Mr Iain Threlkeld IT Member Trustee
Dr A (Mani) Mannivannan MM Member Trustee
Dr Mohammad Al-Amri MAA Director, STERIC

Professor Azzam Taktak AT Member Trustee (online)

Ms Valerie Jolliffe VJ Independent Trustee, Honorary Secretary

In attendance

Present

Mr Philip Morgan	PM	Chief Executive
Ms Claire Sharpe	CS	Deputy Chief Executive
Dr Jemimah Eve	JE	Director of Policy and Impact
Mr Paul James	PJ	Director of Communities

Apologies were noted from Dr Carl Rowbottom, Director of PSC

- IPEM's Engineering Council Registration has been extended for 12 months. IPEM has submitted further documentation for the accreditation licence.
- Trustees supported a proposal for IPEM to issue a Request for Proposals (RFP) as the current contract with Elsevier to publish IPEM journal is due to expire at the end of 2025. Trustees also delegated to the Journals working group the authority to run the RFP process, reverting to the Board with a proposal at the end of the RFP process.
- Stage 2 of the long-term plan were proposed to board, which agreed unanimously to adopt them
- A proposed scheme of delegation was put to board, which was accepted in principle. Further details required for full agreement by board.
- It was agreed to trial having a Chair of the Board, which is a role held by the IPEM President currently. This will be in place by for 12 months.