## Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine Board of Trustees Meeting held on Thursday 18 July 2024 At Institute of Physics, 37 Caledonian Road, London N1 9BU

## **SUMMARY MINUTES**

Dr Rob Farley	RF	Immediate Past President (Acting Chair)
Dr Justin Richards	JR	Independent Trustee (online)
Ms Chelsea Roche	CR	Independent Trustee
Mr Jason Wilde	JW	Independent Trustee
Mr John Turner	JT	Honorary Treasurer
Mr Iain Threlkeld	IT	Member Trustee
Dr A (Mani) Mannivannan	MM	Member Trustee
Dr Carl Rowbottom	CRob	Director, PSC
Professor Azzam Taktak	AT	Member Trustee (online)
Ms Valerie Jolliffe	VJ	Independent Trustee, Honorary Secretary
In attendance		
Mr Philip Morgan	PM	Chief Executive
Ms Claire Sharpe	CS	Deputy Chief Executive
Mr Paul James	PJ	Director of Communities

Apologies were noted from Dr Anna Barnes, President, Dr Mohammad Al-Amri, Director of STERIC, Dr Jemimah Eve, Director of Policy & Impact.

Director of Education and Professional Development

**Head of Communications & Public Affairs** 

KB

CW

- Phil Morgan, IPEM CEO is due to leave IPEM on 15<sup>th</sup> November. Claire Sharpe, Deputy CEO, will be appointed as Interim CEO if there is a gap between Phil and his successor, as agreed by the Trustees.
- A working group will be set up to appoint a recruitment partner and oversee the process.
- Dr Richards, Dr Al-Amri, Mr Turner, Mr Threkeld and Dr Farley were thanked for their service on their last meeting as Board members.
- IPEM Disciplinary/complaints procedure suggestions had been received for improvements.
   PM will prioritise updating the process before he leaves IPEM, meeting with Professional Conduct Council will take place in September.
- RFP publishing contract is out to tender and had received some positive enquiries.
- Renewal of our Engineering Council accreditation licence was going to their Quality Assurance Committee this month and expected to be passed.
- Learning Management System now out to tender.
- Resolutions for AGM papers were agreed. PM asked for approval that JW be appointed interim Chair, which was agreed unanimously.

**Present** 

Ms Katherine Bunting

Mr Chris Watt