Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine Board of Trustees Meeting held on 17th October 2024

at the Manchester Museum, Oxford Road, Manchester, M13 9PL

SUMMARY MINUTES

Present

Dr Jason Wilde	JW	Interim Chair of Trustees and Independent Trustee
Dr Anna Barnes	AB	President
Mr Mark Knight	MK	President-Elect
Ms Chelsea Roche	CR	Independent Trustee
Dr A (Mani) Mannivannan	MM	Member Trustee
Dr Carl Rowbottom	CRob	Director, Professional and Standard Council (PSC)
Professor Azzam Taktak	AT	Member Trustee (online)
Ms Valerie Jolliffe	VJ	Independent Trustee, Honorary Secretary
Mr Matthew Dunn	MD	Member Trustee
Professor Keith Straughn	KS	Independent Trustee

In attendance

Mr Philip Morgan	PM	Chief Executive
Ms Claire Sharpe	CS	Deputy Chief Executive
Dr Jemimah Eve	JE	Director of Policy and Impact
Mr Paul James	PJ	Director of Communities
Ms Katherine Bunting	KB	Director of Education and Professional Development
Mr Chris Watt	CW	Head of Communications & Public Affairs

Apologies were noted from Dr Fiammetta Fedele, Director, Science, Technology, Engineering, Research and Innovation Council (STERIC).

- The Board received reports from the Senior Leadership Team and STERIC.
- The agenda included a report from the Finance and Business Planning Committee and a discussion on the Strategic Risk Register.
- The Board had a "deep dive" presentation on education and professional development strategy. IPEM has completed a tender process for an online Learning Management System and the project will move to the development stage.
- The President's Advisory Committee will meet in January to discuss a proposal for a new Strategic Council within IPEM.
- IPEM will seek to extend their Engineering Council Accreditation Licence for five years
- The Board unanimously agreed a Budget for 2025.
- The Board approved the filling of vacancies on the Remuneration Committee with VJ, JW and MK.

• Phil Morgan ends his role as IPEM CEO on Friday 15th November and Claire Sharpe will be Interim CEO, as approved by the Board of Trustees in July 2024, until a permanent Chief Executive takes post.